Da Antologia di Spoon River di Edgar Lee Masters

Posted on Maggio 30, 2009

2


Archibald Higbie

I loathed you, Spoon River. I tried to rise above you,

I was ashamed of you. I despised you

As the place of my nativity.

And there in Rome, among the artists,

Speaking Italian, speaking French,

I seemed to myself at times to be free

Of every trace of my origin.

I seemed to be reaching the heights of art

And to breathe the air that the masters breathed,

And to see the world with their eyes.

But still they’d pass my work and say:

“What are you driving at, my friend?

Sometimes the face looks like Apollo’s,

At other it has a trace of Lincoln’s”

There was no culture, you know in Spoon River,

And I burned with shame and held peace.

And what could I do, all  covered over

And weighted down with western soil,

Except aspire, and pray for another

Birth in the world, with all of Spoon River

Rooted out of my soul?

Archibald Higbie

Mi disgustavi, Spoon River. Ho provato

A innalzarmi sopra di te, di te mi vergognavo.

Ti disprezzavo come mio luogo di nascita.

E a Roma, tra gli artisti,

parlando italiano, parlando francese,

mi è sembrato a volte di essere libero

da ogni traccia della mia origine.

Mi è sembrato di essere sul punto

Di raggiungere le vette dell’arte

E di respirare l’aria che i maestri respiravano,

e di vedere il mondo coi loro occhi.

Ma davano un’occhiata al mio lavoro e dicevano:

«Dove vuoi arrivare, amico?

Certe Volte la faccia sembra quella di Apollo,

altre volte c’è qualcosa di quella di Lincoln.»

Non c’è cultura, capisci, a Spoon River,

e io morivo di vergogna, e restavo zitto.

E cosa potevo fare, tutto ricoperto

E reso pesante dalla terra dell’ovest,

se non anelare e pregare per un’altra

nascita, con tutta Spoon River

sradicata dall’anima mia?

Posted in: Poesie